Just a Few General Issues


Hey everybody!

I just wanted to give a bit of general information before I really get things up and running. Just to make sure that things are clear before I start posting.

First thing is that I may take a little while before everything is as it should be and before all my ducks are in a row. I have assignments due and exams coming up soon. I beg your indulgence while I get all that academic stuff out my face. Things will be up and running before the end of June.

The next thing is that there will be instances where a balanced review is beyond me. There are series’ and authors who I adore (for example J.R Ward and Abigail Roux). I will generally ignore any faults, unless it’s something major. I will try to be fair and balanced, but there will be cases where this sort of thing will be impossible.

The third thing is that I’m not going to enjoy everything I read. In fact, there will be instances where I will hate a book with a burning passion. I’m going to bitch and moan about the aspects of a book that annoy me. I just want you to know though, that my ranting is not an attack on the author or on you if you happened to enjoy that particular book.

Next issue I want to address is what I’m going to put under the “erotic romance” category. For some reason M/M (male/male) romance is classified as “erotic”. I’m not going to do that. It’s a peeve of mine that all M/M books are lumped in there with the kinky stuff. A book will be classified according to its subject matter. If a M/M book is erotic, that’s where it will go. If it’s contemporary or paranormal or whatever, it will be sorted according to that.

The last thing I want to talk to you about is how I’m going to be rating the books I read. A five star will be filed under “another one on my ship list” . These are the books that cause me to gush effusively, let out undignified shrieks and dreamy sighs. Basically, I froth at the mouth like a rapid Twilight fan. Four stars will be labelled “super awesome”. These are books that I really enjoy, but fall just short of me losing all semblance of dignity. Three stars will just be referred to as “pretty good”, meaning I enjoyed it and it had my interest while I was reading it. Two stars will simply be categorised as “meh”. These are the books that I struggle through and forget about a few hours later. A one star is going to be placed under the “you owe me money!” tab. These books are, in my humble opinion, a ginormous waste of my time and money, and will probably be accompanied by a rant.

Those are the basics for the time being. I will hopefully post an actual review tomorrow, depending on how much work I can force myself to get through. Hoping that you guys have had an epic weekend and that the rest of the weekend follows suit.

Leave a Reply

