Lords of the Underworld: The Darkest Night


thedarkestnight

The Darkest Night

His powers — Inhuman…

His passion — Beyond immortal…

All her life, Ashlyn Darrow has tormented by voices from the past. To end the nightmare, she has come to Budapest seeking help from men rumored to have supernatural abilities, not knowing she’ll be swept into the arms of Maddox, their most dangerous member– a man trapped in a hell of his own.

Neither can resist the instant hunger that calms their torments… and ignites an irresistible passion. But every heated touch and burning kiss will edge them closer to destruction– and a soul-shattering test of love… 

I made a little bit of a blunder with how I ordered my posts. Having the slightest case of OCD, I actually meant to post my reviews in reading order, but then I forgot. So while it’s not a major crisis, it is annoying. I’m sorry about that…

The Darkest Night is the first book in the Lords of the Underworld series.  Let me just give a quick breakdown of the overarching story line before I start on what happened in the book. I absolutely adore the premise of this book. Showalter has done something pretty cool with this series. She’s taken an element of Greek mythology (which I love) in the form of Pandora’s box, and switched it up a little bit. The Lords of the Underworld were once Zeus’s most trusted soldiers. They had it all going for them: they were respected, they were immortal, and their troubles were pretty much limited to beating the crap out of the gods’ enemies. A pretty easygoing life, all in all.

But you know that little saying, “pride cometh before the fall”? Well, that was totally what happened in this case. The Lords let their pride get the better of them when Pandora, a female warrior, was chosen to guard a box filled with the nastiest, most evil demons imaginable. They had their knickers in a knot because none of them had been chosen to be keeper of the box, and thus conspired to take the box from Pandora, proving to the gods that they had made a mistake.

Such a bad idea. This little plan backfired in a big way. The demons were released and the box went missing. This meant that there was no way to re-imprison the demons now that they were running amok in the world. The gods were naturally furious, and decided that a fitting punishment would be to force the warriors to keep the demons in their own bodies. That’s how the Lords of the Underworld were created.

The Lords are: Maddox aka Violence; Torin aka Disease; Lucien aka Death; Reyes aka Pain; Aeron aka Wrath; Paris aka Promiscuity; Sabin aka Doubt; Gideon aka Lies; Kane aka Disaster; Strider aka Defeat; Amun aka Secrets; and Cameo aka Misery.

Awesome, right? A fan-freaking-tastic idea. But… I was a little let down by The Darkest Night. I just felt like something was missing. Maddox and Ashlyn just didn’t do it for me. I think it may have been the story’s time frame that put me off. These two decided that they were meant to be after two days. That’s right, two days. Now, I’ve been reading romance novels since before I started high school. I’m totally used to the thing where the lead couple falls in love in a heartbeat. It’s usually water off  of this duck’s back. And I may have been a little less… blegh… about it if I’d felt the chemistry between these two. I liked Maddox well enough, but I found Ashlyn annoying. She kinda gave me toothache, she was so sweet.

So The Darkest Night wasn’t a great start to this series but, as I told you after reviewing The Darkest Pleasure, it does improve. If you can grit your teeth through this first installment, the rest of the series looks to be pretty awesome. Think of it as eating your veggies first so you can get to the good stuff  🙂

The best place to find this one would be at Diesel’s ebook store. It’s nice and cheap over there.

2 thoughts on “Lords of the Underworld: The Darkest Night

    • I definitely want to give all of Showalter’s stuff a try, but my to be read pile is getting ridiculously high so it’ll be a while before I get to it. I find the more of her book I read, the more I enjoy her writing.

Leave a Reply

