The League: Born of Silence

Born of Silence

Born of Silence

Death stalks the night…

Kere, the Caronese god of death, is the second most infamous member of the shadow organization known as the Sentella. As an explosives engineer who is known for striking terror into the hearts of all enemies and the League, the bounty on his head is truly staggering. No one outside the Sentella knows his real identity.

Zarya Starska grew up hard on the backstreets of hell. Because of his political beliefs, her father was labelled a traitor and her family hunted to the brink of extinction. But Zarya dreams of a different life and a different world. A world where the harsh hand of the Caronese government doesn’t destroy the lives of its citizens. As a resistance leader, her goal is to topple the government that took her father’s life.

Her right hand is a mysterious man known only as Kere.

By the light of day…

Kere has a dark secret. As he aids the resistance, he’s actually working to bring down his own family-the Cruels. Born and bred from one of the oldest and noblest families in the United Systems, Kere’s real name is Darling Cruel. And the one thing he wants most is to see his uncle, who stole the crown from his father, to pay for his crimes.

If you tell a lie long enough, it becomes the truth…

Darling’s entire life is a lie. No one has ever seen the real him. No one except Zarya. She’s the only person he’s ever fully trusted with the truth. But when she betrays him by allowing a weapon he designed just for her to be used against the members of his family that he would die to protect, all bets are off.

The hero is now the monster…

Betrayed to the deepest level, Darling becomes an even worse enemy than his uncle. His goal is not only to reign, but kill every resistance member he can find. He won’t rest until all of them are dead and that includes Zarya.

The twisted hand of fate…

Zarya is the only hope to reach the heart of the man her people once considered their ally. A man who hates her with a fury so great that she knows it’s just a matter of time before he kills her. But if she can find the part of him that once trusted her, the part of him that once loved her, she might be able to save not only her own life, but those of her people. It’s an impossible mission.

Luckily, she doesn’t play the odds.

Wow, that’s a long blurb. Doesn’t really leave me much to say, does it? I read this book quite a while ago, so I don’t remember everything in detail. However, I do remember that I enjoyed it. But I’m also questioning myself. I’m wondering, if I went back and read it again, would I still enjoy it? It’s probably not a good time for me to be talking about Sherrilyn Kenyon. I’m a little disillusioned right this second. I’m nearly done with Time Untime and I’m not in my happy place. But I’ll tell you about that tomorrow.

For now I’ll tell you that SK pulled out all the stops when it came to our angsty hero Darling Cruel. You can already tell just by looking at his name, that SK was going to make this poor guy miserable. Darling is Caronese royalty and is heir to the throne. He should be living in the lap of luxury and should have his every whim catered to. Instead, he’s horribly abused by his uncle and neglected by his mother, who is a complete a ho. So big a slut is she that Darling has pretended to be gay so that his mother won’t be executed for her whoring around. So instead of her being punished, Darling is regularly beaten into a bloody spot by his uncle. Granted, the law that the queen can’t take a lover after her husband’s death is harsh, but what that bitch let happen to her son was worse. Not only does Darling get beaten but he gets sent to mental institutions to cure him of his “aberration”. Here Darling is brutally tortured and violated in the worst ways imaginable. I just want to stop here and say that there are times where I think SK hates her heroes. She piles the crap on these guys in a major way.

Needless to say, Darling begrudges his uncle the very air the butthead breathes. So much so that he’s joined the Sentella, a group dedicated to bringing down corrupt governments and the equally corrupt League. The League are kinda like national government, and all the other planets or whatever are provincial government. Everyone answers to the League. But given who Darling is, he’s had to hide his identity. He’s way too high profile, and there’s the fear other members of the Sentella might not be so understanding of the fact that one of the resistance leaders is royalty. That’s why Darling carries out Sentella business under the guise of Kere.

However, the Sentella aren’t  the only resistance group floating around. Zarya is the leader of her resistance group (no clue what it’s called, sorry) and she wants the Cruel family’s blood. Her father died at Darling’s uncle’s hand, and she wants them to pay. And a certain Kere has been helping her resistance group to destablise the Caronese government. Only one problem: she has no clue who he really is. This eventually leads to a whole lot of misunderstanding, Zarya inadvertantly betraying Darling, and Darling having to go through yet more torture. This just pushes Darling past what he can handle and the poor guy goes batshit crazy. The rest of the story is basically about Darling recovering from his bout of batshit crazy and reverting to being just a bit unstable, and him going from hating Zarya with a passion to him blindly adoring her. I think my favourite part of this book was Maris. He’s Darling’s best friend, and he is actually gay but he has to pretend he’s straight. He was pretty funny. His book is supposed to be coming out any day now, so I think I’m looking forward to that.

Like I said, I enjoyed this book. But I’m just feeling a little betrayed right now, and I’m questioning my judgement. Although if you like angsty heroes, people rising up through some serious adversity, and lots of action, you’ll love this book. It’s got bucket loads of the stuff.  But try reading the previous ones first. This is book five in The League series, so the other books will fill in some of the finer details before you get to this one.

The League in reading order:

  1. Born of Night
  2. Born of Fire
  3. Born of Ice
  4. Born of Shadows
  5. Born of Silence

If you feel like getting your hands on this book, you can buy it at Sony’s ebook store.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s