Belador Series: Alterant


Alterant

Alterant

The way Evalle Kinkaid sees it, saving mankind from total destruction should have cleared her name. But when words uttered in the heat of combat are twisted against her, she’s blamed for the prison break of three dangerous Alterants. She has one chance to clear the cloud of suspicion hanging over her… for good. All she has to do is recapture the escapees. But deals with gods and goddesses are tricky at best, and now the lives of all Beladors, and the safety of innocent humans, rides on Evalle’s success. The only person she can ask for help wants to see her dead.

I was a teeny bit disappointed with this book. Just a little. The first book, Blood Trinity, was epic so I was expecting more of the same in Alterant. I can’t entirely put my finger on why Alterant fell short. It felt like a lot happened, but not much got resolved. I felt that there was maybe a little too much mystery… Maybe it’s not even that because I enjoy mysteries and surprises. It just felt like, as the reader, we were stumbling around in the dark. I would have liked just a little bit more information. Another issue I had was that we didn’t see enough of Evalle, Quinn and Tzader. A big part of why I enjoyed Blood Trinity so much was because there wasn’t any romantic tension between these three. Something that I’ve noticed with Urban Fantasy lately is that the romance tends to overshadow the rest of the story (Tori from Smexy books sums it up perfectly; if you haven’t read this post already, check it out here). As much as I adore romance, I find myself wondering, when I read Urban Fantasy, why can’t the chick just be friends with a guy? Why does it always have to devolve in a whirlwind of romantic angst or, God forbid, the dreaded Love Triangle.

But there were still good elements to this book. For example, Evalle’s little gargoyle, Feenix, is just to bloody cute. And Evalle is learning, slowly but surely, how to open up to Storm and trust him. I really like Storm. He’s solid, and he doesn’t rock that whole “reckless bad boy” thing that’s so popular. He’s a nice guy. Too few of those, in my humble opinion. But the good was overshadowed a bit by my frustration at the not knowing. I know it’s supposed to make you want to read the next book in the series, but I just ended up all mumbly-grumbly after reading it. I don’t like being kept in the dark. So here are a some of the questions in dire need of answering, that will hopefully be dealt with in The Curse:

  • What the hell happened to Storm, and where the blazes did he go?
  • What’s going on with Quinn?
  • Can we hope that something awful is going to happen to Sen, Evalle’s stick up the ass boss, and Kizira, the treacherous bitch that poor Quinn finds himself in love with?
  • Speaking of Sen, what’s his gripe with Evalle anyway?
  • What is the goddess, Macha’s, agenda? Is she just being a bitch or does she actually have a plan?
  • Will Isak ever find out that Evalle is an Alterant, and what’s he going to do when (not if) he does find out?

Lots of questions. Hopefully all will be revealed in the next book.

2 thoughts on “Belador Series: Alterant

  1. I totally agree, Alterant felt like it was missing something but I feel that the next book more then made up for it, book 3 is by far my favorite of this series. Hang in there, book 3 redeems it all 🙂

Leave a Reply

