Fever: Bloodfever


Bloodfever

Bloodfever

I used to be your everyday, average girl but all that changed one night in Dublin, when I saw my first Fae, and got dragged into a world of deadly immortals and ancient secrets.

In her fight to stay alive, Mac must find the Sinsar Dubh-a million year old book of deadly black magic, which holds the key to power over both the worlds of Fae and Man. Pursued by assassins, surrounded by people she knows she can’t trust, Mac finds herself torn between two dangerous and powerful men, V’lane, a lethal Fae prince and the mysterious Jericho Barrons.

For millennia the shadowy realm of the Fae court has coexisted with that of humans. Now the walls between the two are coming down and Mac is the only thing that stands between them. 

While reading a book, I usually weigh the heroine on my own personal “Kick Ass Scale” from one to ten. If a heroine is a one, she’s a “Bella”. We do not like Bellas. If she’s a ten, she’s a “Buffy”. We love Buffys. But I think I’m going to need to create an eleven, The ladies who reach this point on the scale will henceforth be known as a “Mac”. Mac underwent a major transformation in this book. I was both really proud of her and utterly freaked out.

I didn’t enjoy Bloodfever quite as much as I did Darkfever, but there is no denying that Ms Moning can write one hell of a good book. Mac has now learnt that she is a sidhe-seer, a woman with the ability to see the Fae. There are other sidhe-seers in Ireland, but they haven’t been very nice to her. Mac has also, more or less, settled into her rather… odd living arrangements. Mac and Barrons have an extremely strange relationship. They’re all formal and stuff, and he insists on calling her “Ms Lane”.But there are moments where the formal facade cracks and they get so unbelievably pissy with one another. Those moments have me rolling around laughing. These two are sharp and they don’t pull any punches in terms of the snotty commentary. Now, I know that I said that Barrons is an ass and I stand by that statement, but, man… he’s funny!

And in spite of the fact that Barrons is a pig, and that Mac’s mental health will go down the toilet if she does, I wish that Mac and Barrons would just go there, The sexual tension between these two is off the charts, as is illustrated by this little snippet. It also raises a very important question: what in the hell is Jericho Barrons? This is an issue that we will deal with for most of the series.

“I’ve heard that there are no male sidhe-seers.
“Where did you hear that?”
“Around.”
“And which one of those are you in doubt about, Ms Lane?”
“Which one of what?”
“Whether I see the Fae, or whether I’m a man. I believe I’ve laid your mind to rest on the former; shall I relieve it on the latter?”
He reached for his belt.

See what I mean? He’s an obnoxious pig… but he’s funny. So do I roll my eyes in disgust, or do I succumb to side-splitting laughter. I suppose it only adds to Barrons’ appeal. I mean, who says stuff like that? Also, evasive much? But Mac has more pressing matters to deal with. She’s also being treated much like a bone between two hungry dogs. V’lane and Barrons both want to help Mac, but neither can stand the sight of the other. Add to that the mind-melting pain she experiences whenever she’s in the presence of the Sinsar Dubh, a seriously evil book of black magic, and Mac’s plate is pretty full.

The peripheral characters were pretty interesting. We saw more of the old faces and got introduced to a few newbies. Let me start with the people we’re familiar with and then I’ll introduce you to the new characters. I still don’t like V’lane, the death-by-sex Fae. Not only is this guy creepy as hell but he is morally bankrupt. This guy has something else on his agenda, besides getting into Mac’s pants. Fiona is still doing the whole crazy in love thing for Barrons, although she’s leaning more towards crazy than anything else. Rowena, the aging sidhe-seer is a horrible old lady, and I want to kick her. She is so bloody nasty to Mac, when all Mac needs at this point is a bit of guidance. The Lord Master, the guy Mac suspects of killing her sister, is still running amok causing trouble. Just as an aside, what kind of name is Lord Master? Really? Malluce, the vampire, is falling apart. When you see what’s going on with him you will cringe.

Now for our new faces. I think my favourite was Dani. She’s a precocious thirteen year old sidhe-seer with a potty mouth  and a bad attitude. She is so much fun and I can’t wait to read more about her. The next newbie is Inspector Jayne. He’s a member of Ireland’s Garda and is causing Mac’s butt to cramp. He won’t get out of her hair and is convinced that she knows more than she’s telling about the murder of his college. Finally, we meet the yummy Christian MacKeltar. He’s seems like your typical Average Joe, but he knows stuff. Stuff that Mac is dying to learn more about.

One more thing I’d like to talk about before I sign off is… the kiss. Barrons and Mac do lock lips towards the end of this book, and I couldn’t even get properly excited about it. Why, you ask? Because Mac kinda-okay, I’m lying-totally freaked me out just before the kiss and so, I didn’t appreciate it as much. I was still dwelling a little on the utterly disgusting habit that Mac had picked up from Malluce. I have one thing to say about it: yuck.

Last little quote before I go. I’m still not entirely sure how I feel about Barrons, but this quote made me dislike him a little less. Not to worry though. He will doubtless piss me off again in the next book.

“What are you, Barrons?”
The one who will never let you die, and that’s more, Ms Lane, than anyone in your life has ever been able to say to you. More than anyone else can do.”

Hope that you’ve all enjoyed your weekend!

 

5 thoughts on “Fever: Bloodfever

Leave a Reply

