Fever: Faefever


Faefever

Faefever

He calls me his Queen of the Night. I’d die for him. I’d kill for him, too.

When Mac receives a page torn from her dead sister’s journal, she is stunned by Alina’s words. Mac knows her sister’s killer is near. The sidhe-seer is on the hunt: for answers, for revenge. And for an ancient book of magic so twisted and dark that it corrupts anyone who touches it.

Mac’s quest takes her into the dark, riot-filled streets of Dublin with a suspicious cop on her tail. Forced into an uneasy alliance with a deadly Fae prince and the lethal Jericho Barrons, Mac is soon locked in a battle for her body, mind and soul.

Whoa… I just want to say, for the record, that if I fail my exams next week it is all KMM’s fault. How can I be expected to read all that dry stuff on museums when I can be reading this? I have no willpower when it comes to these books. They pull me in until the words “exams”, “fail miserably”, and “working at MacDonald’s” have no meaning. All I care about is finding out what’s going to happen next. Mac just seems to get stronger and stronger with each book. “Pink Mac”, as she refers to her younger, more clueless self, is rapidly being replaced by a darker, more ruthless Mac. She has so much to deal with, and any form of morality is being sacrificed on the alter of survival.

Mac’s problems seem to keep piling up. First, she has to deal with that dirty habit she picked up from Malluce. Mac’s determination to survive bit her in the bum a little bit on this one. While I’m glad Mac isn’t dead, it still squees me out to read about her habit. Even worse when she has a sort of “peer pressure” moment and gets poor Inspector Jayne in on the action. Just… ewww. Moving on. Mac’s having some serious trust issues in Faefever. And who can blame her? Nobody (translate: Barrons) tells her anything. And other people (read: V’lane) are about as trustworthy as a tenderpreneur. The poor girl is getting desperate to have somebody on her side who’s honest with her. And it’s not like she can force Barrons to quit being evasive, or make V’lane tell her the truth. So Mac has decided that it’s time to stop putting her eggs in one basket. So… ding! ding! ding!… Inspector Jayne, you have become Mac’s third option. Poor bastard.

The relationship between Mac and Barrons has become even more tense, if you’ll believe it. The Kiss strained things a little, and Barrons’ unwillingness to tell her what he is (dammit, it’s starting to drive me nuts!), isn’t helping any. But he is being… helpful, in his own way. He’s teaching her how to resist Voice (think Harry Potter’s Imperious curse) and they’re making plans to go after the Sinsar Dubh. Barrons wants that thing bad. But, as with everything Barrons-related, we haven’t the foggiest idea why. This forces both the reader and Mac to come up with reasons as to why he could possibly want that creepy thing. I’m with Mac and leaning towards something sinister. Mac is also getting closer to V’lane physically and she’s beginning to trust him somewhat. I tend to shout at Mac when she’s with V’lane. I’ve given up on my whole “Barrons sucks” stance, so most of the advice I shout tends to be along the lines of “Don’t trust that creepy feckin’ Fae!” And that neatly brings us to my second favourite character in this series: Dani. I love this kid. She is such a handful, but she’s so much fun! On the other hand, my least favourite sidhe-seer, Rowena makes me want to throw things. She is such a bitch.

Faefever centres around one burning issue: how to keep the walls between the human realm and the realm of the Fae up. Because once the walls are down, and the creepy Unseelie are released, shit is going to start flying. And then… then… KMM did that thing I hate: she threw in a cliffhanger. I’m glad I was home alone when I read this part because otherwise I’m pretty sure my parents would have had me committed. I went a little nutty. Like, how could KMM just leave me hanging there?! I have Dreamfever, thank the pope, or else I would be a complete wreck. To those of you reading this series or if you’re considering reading this series: if you love yourself, you will get all of the books at once. Don’t try and be clever or thrifty and buy them one at a time. You will want to get started on the next book as soon as you finish the one you’re currently on, and if you don’t have it you will suffer.

My two favourite quotes from Faefever both involve Barrons. Yes, I can hear the laughter. How the mighty have fallen.

This scene happens just after a completely hair-raising run in with the Sinsar Dubh.
I began to cry.
Barrons looked horrified. “Stop that immediately, Ms Lane.”
“I can’t.” I sniffled into my cup of cocoa so he wouldn’t see my face.
“Try harder.”
I know he was barking orders, but I think he may have been somewhat panicky about Mac crying. Mac’s pretty much been a trooper, all things considered.

In this book we learn that Barrons is having a birthday. Mac decided to be nice and get him a birthday cake. I mean, things have been pretty grim for Mac and I think she just wanted to lighten the mood. There’s just a slight problem: she doesn’t know how old Barrons is. Undeterred, Mac puts “Pi” on the cake. This is one of the scenes where I wished we could have gotten a third-person perspective. I wanted to know what was going on in that thick skull of his.
“Pi, Ms Lane? I’d pegged you for failing high school math.”
I got a D. The little stuff always trips me up. But the big stuff stuck with me.”
“Why Pi?”
“It’s irrational and uncountable.”
Funny girl, wasn’t I?
“It’s also a constant,” he said dryly. 

I’m now wavering between wanting to jump Barrons’ bones and wanting to smack him upside the head. But at least I’m not doing that indignant female fury thing so much any more. I still think he’s a creep, but he’s growing on me… like a fungus.

Leave a Reply

