Warriors of Poseidon: Atlantis Rising


Atlantis Rising

Atlantis Rising

Eleven thousand years ago, before the seas swallowed the Atlanteans, Poseidon assigned a few chosen warriors to act as sentinels for humans in the new world. There was only one rule-desiring them was forbidden. But rules were made to be broken…

Riley Dawson is more than a dedicated Virginia Beach social worker. She’s blessed with a mind link that only Atlanteans have been able to access for thousands of years.

Conlan, the high prince of Atlantis, has surfaced on a mission to retrieve Poseidon’s stolen Trident. Yet something else has possessed Conlan: the intimate emotions and desires of a human.

In the battle to reclaim Poseidon’s power, how long can a forbidden love last between two different souls from two different worlds?

You may have already noticed that I love paranormal romance. Of all the sort of “sub-genres” in romance, I love paranormal the best. Witches, werewolves, vampires, you name it, I’m there. Whether an author wants to stick to the “traditional” world that’s already been created, tweak things a little to suit their story or even just come up with something entirely new, I normally love it all. So when I saw a series going down the whole Atlantis route, I was quite keen. And then… I wasn’t.

See, if you’re a frequent reader of paranormal romance, you’ll know that sometimes authors like to… cheat. They do that thing where their lead characters can just frolic around in each other’s minds for five minutes, and then suddenly they know each other. And then the author gives them a little bit of time, approximately half an hour, and then they are in love and just know that they’ve found The One. And that is exactly what happened in Atlantis Rising. It took Riley and Conlan two days-count them, two– to decide that they were meant for each other. It had me sputtering and grumbling to myself the whole time I was reading this. Now, not to be disrespectful, but that whole “insta-love” thing has always struck me as being a cop out. I mean, why spend time developing the actual romance when you can just be all, I’ve-seen-into-your-soul-and-now-know-you-better-than-the-people-you’ve-known-your-whole-life? It’s lazy and they are just skipping the best part of the romance. The getting-to-know-you bit is usually the best part of the story, and I feel cheated when authors just brush it aside.

I wish I could say that my rant is over now. But this book left me so underwhelmed, it was ridiculous. Riley and Conlan were one of those generic couples who, in a year’s time, I probably won’t remember. In fact, if I hadn’t been so annoyed by the romantic element, I probably would have forgotten about them already. Conlan was just… meh. He wasn’t an awful hero but he just didn’t do it for me. We meet Conlan the night he returns to Atlantis after years of torture, and discovers that Poseidon’s Trident is MIA. He and his personal guard have to go get the thing back so that he can ascend to the throne of Atlantis. Instead of waiting for his guard, he takes off on his own and is suddenly hit by a wave of incapacitating emotion. Once he recovers, he traces the emotion back to its source. He then discovers Riley, our heroine, on a beach being cornered by these scummy guys who seem to be intent on mugging her or worse. He saves her using some pretty impressive waterworks, and afterward he can feel this really intense attraction to her. Now, while Conlan was just “meh”, Riley irritated the living daylights out of me. She was just so nice. For some reason, nice sometimes equals dumb. I can appreciate feeling attraction to a stranger. But maybe this attraction isn’t strictly appropriate when you’ve just narrowly avoided being raped! There is a time and a place for everything, but that was not it. I found myself wondering who the hell would want this girl to be their social worker when she clearly has no sense of self-preservation.

Another example of asinine behaviour from our leading lady is when Conlan just randomly arrives at her house later that night accompanied by five extremely large men. She’s home alone. It’s the middle of the night. She doesn’t know any of these men. Does she maybe phone the police? Call her sister to say that, “Hey, there are some strange men outside my house, just a heads up in case I go missing and you one day find my body in a ditch”? Hell, does she just stay in the house and hope they’ll go away? Nah. She goes outside to meet them. After all, she’s seen inside Conlan’s soul. Gah, it was just so annoying! Why can’t a nice heroine have a healthy dose of self-preservation and common sense? I would honestly rather have a bitchy heroine with a bad attitude and a heap of emotional baggage who is smart, than have a nice one who is stupid.

I probably should have just put it down. But I hate not finishing books, and I kept hoping that it would get better. But it didn’t and all that happened was that I got frustrated. By the time I finished it, I could have done the dance of joy I was so relieved to put the damn thing down. I didn’t really care how it ended by that point, just so long as it did.

Sorry about the ranting and raving. I know it wasn’t much of a review, just me spewing but I really need to get it off my chest. Just out of curiosity, has anyone read the rest of the series? Does it get better or should I give it up as a bad job?

Leave a Reply

