Nightwalkers: Jacob


Jacob

Jacob

Since time began, there have been Nightwalkers-the species of the night who live in the shadows of the moonlight. Love with humans is absolutely forbidden, and one man makes certain to uphold this ancient law: Jacob, the Enforcer…

Jacob has heard every excuse his people give when the madness overtakes them and they fall prey to their lust for humans, and he still brings every trespasser to justice. Immune to forbidden desires, uncontrollable hungers or the curse of the moon, his control is total… until he sees Isabella on a shadowy New York City street. 

Saving her life wasn’t in his plans. But the moment he holds her in his arms and feels the soft explosion of her body against his, everything changes. Their attraction is undeniable, volatile-and completely against the law. And suddenly everything Jacob has ever believed is inflamed by the heat of desire. 

Jacob is the first book in Jacquelyn Frank’s Nightwalker series. I think I must have been in a little bit of a haze or something when I bought this book. Because if I had been altogether there, I would have taken one look at the blurb and gone, “Nuh-uh”. I mean, “soft explosion of her body against his“? Seriously? What the hell does that mean?

This book did nothing for me. To be fair, the story wasn’t completely awful, but I had a major hate going for some of the characters and that completely squelched any enjoyment I may have had while reading it. The heroine grated my cheese to the point where I was hoping something would just spring up and eat her. Needless to say, that isn’t something you should be hoping for when it comes to your lead characters.

This story is about Jacob the Enforcer and Bella the Helpless Ninny. Jacob is a demon and he is tasked with upholding demon law. In this series, demons aren’t like the things you’d find on Buffy. These demons are… kinda lame, if I’m honest. But anyway, the main thing Jacob has to do is ensure that no demon gets frisky with a human. Given how enormously strong demons are, there wouldn’t be enough left of the human after a night of hanky-panky to put in a shoe box. Jacob’s nights are normally pretty busy, but things get worse during the Samhain and Beltane moons. This is a time when demons are all about their hormones and baser urges, and keeping the unsuspecting humans safe from this threat is a full time job. But Jacob can handle it. He’s been doing it for many, many years and he’ll keep doing it for many, many more years to come. At least, that’s what he thinks until he runs into a walking disaster named Bella, and his world is turned upside down.

Bella is a bookworm. She’s also a librarian, so “naturally” she has zero excitement in her life. But then she meets Jacob and suddenly she has more excitement than she can handle. I know this might sound terribly harsh, but this chick was a flaming idiot. Seriously, I think she may have been the most TSTL heroine I have ever read. Let me use an example or two to illustrate my point. Firstly, there’s how she and Jacob meet. Bella is leaning out her window, stargazing. Jacob walks past her window and then, for some or other reason, they start talking. So, while they’re having their little tete-a-tete, Bella falls out the window. I shit you not. She wasn’t pushed. She wasn’t backing away from a bad guy. She didn’t even trip. She was just leaning too far out and then she fell. I actually laughed because I just couldn’t believe it. Is that level of stupidity supposed to be endearing? Even worse, when Jacob rushes to save her dumb butt (he should have just let her get squished on the pavement; it would have saved him a lot of trouble), he’s forced to sort of float himself up to a height where his catching her won’t hurt her. And after he catches her, she doesn’t notice that they are floating 10 feet in the air. Here in SA, we don’t deal in feet, so I have no clue how high that is. The closest I can get to estimating how high that is is by thinking of it as about one and a half Alexander Skarsgards. And you know what? That’s effing high! How can you not notice? It felt like Bella was the personification of every bookworm stereotype taken to the extreme.

As if this asinine behaviour isn’t bad enough, she lets Jacob use her as a demon divining rod. She and Jacob find the Scooby Doo-styled demon, whereupon she promptly faints. Jacob, once again proving that he’s a big a twit as his lady love, decides to take Bella home with him. He strips her, leaving her only with one of his shirts, and puts her in his bed. When smarty-pants wakes up, is she disturbed by her state of undress? Is she concerned that she’s in a stranger’s house? Does it cause her even a flicker of worry that no one knows where she is? Does she feel the slightest bit indignant that a strange man undressed her? The answer to all those question? A big, honking NO. A final complaint about our heroine ( I swear, I’ll stop after this), is that she cries. About everything. I wanted to get inside the book so that I could give her something to cry about.

She did get slightly less useless towards the end, but by that point I didn’t care. I wish we could have seen her before she met Jacob, maybe seen her acting smart or, at the very least, not like a complete dumbass. I think, in spite of my bitching, that having Bella as the heroine was a good thing. Yes, you read that right. Because I can’t actually really remember much else about this book beyond the fact that I wanted to attack the heroine. Not a good start for any series, I think.

Leave a Reply

