Nightwalkers: Gideon


Gideon

Gideon

They’re called Nightwalkers-proud, ancient beings who live in the shadows, existing just beyond the human world. But there are also dangerous humans who hunt them. And for a Demon named Gideon, the battle against these evil forces will become all too personal...

For a thousand years, Gideon’s wisdom has always been respected without question, but he knows that even he is vulnerable to the powerful, primitive desires that befall his kind during the Hallowed moons-as nine years ago he found himself claiming Magdelegna, the Demon King’s sister, in a wild embrace.

Horrified by his lack of control, he left her wanting and furious-and then exiled himself. Now with the necromancers threatening his people-and Magdelegna-Gideon must face another truth. He and Magdelegna are destined to be together. But first he needs to regain her trust, which might be the biggest challenge of all.

In reading Jacquelyn Frank’s Nightwalker series, I have learned two valuable lessons: the first is to always take notes while I’m reading, just to remind me of what’s what. The next is to never ever buy more than one book at a time of a series that I’ve never read. It’s just safer to buy one and then go crazy if I like it. This isn’t normally something I need to be reminded of. It just makes sense and has been a rule of mine for donkey’s years. But someone decided to ignore their own advice and has ended up with a book-load of disappointment.

Moving on from that educational experience. Gideon is book two in the Nightwalker series and takes place a few weeks after Jacob. Given how much I disliked the first book, logic would suggest that reading the next book immediately after may not have been the best idea. But like I said, I’d already bought the damn thing. I was thinking that if it turned out to be crappy, then I just wanted to get it over and done with. And a tiny part of me was thinking that maybe it would be better. Hope springs eternal, after all. And I was half right. It was better, and it was worse. Better because there was a lot less Bella (still too much for my liking, but anyway). Worse because… I don’t remember much about the actual story 😦

Let me tell you about what I do remember. Firstly, Gideon reminded me of Gregori from Christine Feehan’s Dark series and, as such, there were a few times where my hand itched to smack him. But, in all fairness, he wasn’t all bad as a hero. Magdelegna was better than Bella as a heroine because at no point did I want to reach into the book to throttle her. She was really nice and sweet and… forgettable. Finally, I noticed that Ms Frank writes… funny. I don’t know how else to describe it. She uses these really big words and, half the time, I thought that she was making them up. And her descriptions had a tendency to strike me as unintentionally hilarious. One of her descriptions of Gideon had me in gales of laughter. I can’t even remember what the context was, but I think that Ms Frank was trying to illustrate the point that Gidoen was old school. All it ended up doing was sounding ridiculous.

 

So Gideon and Magdelegna had met before and there had been some sparks flying between the two. But Gideon is a non-sparky kind of guy and he was completely freaked out by his reaction to her. Ashamed of his out-of-control behaviour, Gideon retreated into a self-imposed exile. But the events in Jacob forced him to re-enter demon society and help deal with the copious amount of crap hitting the fan. Magdelegna is the Demon King’s baby sister, and has lived a pretty sheltered life until Bella came along. The night of Samhain was not a good one for her and she’s been dealing with the fallout ever since.

The one good thing about the previous book was that I’ll probably remember it a month from now. Hell, I finished this book last week and I’ve already forgotten the basic story line. I could just chalk it up to exam induced amnesia that had me basically erasing this story from my memory, or I can admit that this series has left me completely underwhelmed. Judging by the ratings on goodreads, I’m in the minority on this one. As a result, I’ve decided to follow the whole if-you-don’t-like-it-don’t-read-it philosophy. I’m done with this series. I’d much rather tell you guys about the books I love, instead of bitching about the books that annoy me.

Leave a Reply

