Book of the Month: June


I very nearly forgot to post my pick for my favourite June read. There were quite a few to choose from this month, and I was struggling a little with which book to go with. But then, I decided to follow my fanngirl instincts and landed on Rapture, book four in the Fallen Angel series by J.R Ward. I really don’t have words for how much I adore this woman, so I’m not even going to bother trying… But I will leave you with a little snippet from a scene between Mels and Matthias. This part killed a little part of me. It was so sad.

“Do you really think you’re not attractive?”

“You just saw me in boxers.”

Mels shook her head. “I’m not one of those shallow chicks who needs a guy all jacked up with muscles. There’s so much more to it than that.”

“Maybe, but I’m pretty certain you’d like your man to be able to have sex with you.”

Mels opened her mouth. Shut it. Opened it again.

“Exactly.”

Shit. That probably should have occurred to her, given the other scars on his lower body.

“Straight up, Mels, the only reason I haven’t completely jumped you is because I can’t. I… can’t.” He threw up his free hand and let it fall back down to the bedspread. “And you know what sucks? I’ve been with a lot of women.”

Annnnnnnd that made her chest hurt. “Before you were injured…”

He nodded. “Of all the things for my memory to come back on, right?”

Cue another kick to the solar plexus. “You remember them?”

“I hate it-because I would trade every single random fuck for just one night with you.” He brushed her face with his fingertips and then brought his thumb to her mouth. With the same gentle pressure he’d put against her wrist, he caressed her lower lip. “I’d give up every one of them. Matter of fact, it feels like… a curse to have finally found someone like you, only to have it be too late. And that’s where it’s at. It’s too late for me, Mels, and that’s how you’re killing me. When I look at you, when I see you move, when you smile or take a deep breath, I just… I die a little. Every time.”

Mels felt tears prick the corners of her eyes, an emotion she couldn’t define striking her heart and making it ring.

“You liked kissing me,” she said roughly.

“No. I loved it. I want to be doing it right now. I want… to do other things to you, just to make you feel good. But that’s as far as it would go-and whereas that’s more than enough for me, I know at some point, tonight, tomorrow, next week… it’s not going to be enough for you.”

She pressed a kiss to his hand. “I thought you were leaving.”

“I am. That was just a rhetorical example.”

Maybe. But it gave her a little hope, and she suddenly needed that like she had to have air.

“Mels, I-”

Swooping in, she stopped whatever it was he was going to say with her own mouth. At first, as the contact was made, his lips were stiff against her own, but that didn’t last. Soon enough, he was moving against her, wanting, taking. Licking. Nipping.

When she finally eased back, she was out of  breath. “Don’t make my mind up for me, okay?”

It was clear she wasn’t the only one affected, because his chest was rising and falling with an urgency that turned her on.

“I don’t need sex to be happy with you,” she told him. “It’s honestly not that important-“

With a sudden surge, he all but pounced on her, pushing her back against the mattress and kissing her hard and deep. As his body covered hers, his tongue entered her, owning her in a way that was so complete, she hadn’t realized until that moment exactly how anemic any other man had been.

That heat that had sprung up exploded, the blood in her veins going into a roar in the space between heartbeats.

And that was before his hands started to undo her clothes.

Rapture: pg 249-251

In case you missed it, you can check out my review of Rapture here.

Leave a Reply

