Holy Wow Wednesday: Super Rugby


I come from a family of staunch rugby and soccer supporters. Sports are a pretty big thing in our house and you do not get in front of the tv when a Blue Bulls or Real Madrid match is on. It’s a a matter of personal safety. Now, I don’t know what it’s like in other places but here where I live, our menfolk love rugby. This isn’t to say that the ladies don’t get all excited about the sport, but our guys have a tendency to… well, act like crazy people, if my father is any indication. Seriously, after the Bulls lost to the Brubies the week before last, I thought my whole family was going to wear black in mourning. But until recently, I didn’t really see what the fuss was about (that’s pretty much my reaction to most sports). But one day, while unwillingly watching a game between the Sharks and… I can’t remember who else, I had an epiphany: Rugby is a beautiful game. Don’t believe me? Here, I have evidence…

Danny Care of the English national team.

Danny Care of the English national team.

Richard Kahui of the New Zealand national team.

Richard Kahui of the New Zealand national team.

Maxime Mermoz

Maxime Mermoz

Ben Foden of the English national side.

Ben Foden of the English national side.

Pierre Spies of the South African national team.

Pierre Spies of the South African national team.

Sonny Bill Williams of the New Zealand national side.

Sonny Bill Williams of the New Zealand national side.

I swear to God, Sonny Bill Williams is reason enough to watch rugby. Or boxing, Or whatever the hell else he does to keep his fine self busy. So the next time you find yourself lamenting the fact that you’re stuck watching sport, just remember: there’s a hottie there somewhere. You just might find yourself enjoying the game more than the actual sports fans.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

