Hell or High Water: Catch a Ghost


Catch a Ghost

Catch a Ghost

Everyone knows that Prophet-former Navy SEAL, former CIA spook, full-time pain in the ass-works alone. But his boss at Extreme Escapes, Ltd. has just assigned Proph a new partner and a case haunted by ghosts from Prophet’s past. Suddenly, he has to confront both head-on.

Tom Boudreaux-failed FBI agent, failed sheriff, full-time believer in bad luck-is wondering why the head of a private contracting firm has hunted him down to offer him a job. Still, he’s determined to succeed, despite being partnered with Prophet, EE’s most successful. lethal, and annoying operative, on a case that resurrects his own painful past.

Together, Prophet and Tom must find a way to take down killers in a dangerous world of underground cage matches while fighting their own dangerous attraction. When they find themselves caught in the crossfire, these two loners must trust each other and work together to escape their ghosts… or pay the price.

I just finished Catch a Ghost by SE Jakes, and I’m not sure what to say about it other than that it was perfection. I am actually a little shell-shocked. This is book one in the Hell or High Water series, and it was just… riveting. Since words are failing me and because I also don’t want to spoil anything, I will sum up my reactions to this book like this:

  1. Upon receiving my email from Riptide saying that I could download my book (I pre-ordered, bitches):  
  2. 1339605827_excited_fanThen just before I started reading:tumblr_m7xtgqguPp1ryfrfko1_500
  3. When I started reading I swung between this:typing-omgto this:tumblr_mqnmzmnxfG1sryr89o1_500to this: cry
  4. By the time I was done, I pretty much looked a little like this:cosby_omg
  5. And by the time 28 October rolls around, I imagine that I’ll look like this:tumblr_ma5lhzX7Oy1rv558io1_400

I know this isn’t much of a review, but I really don’t want to spoil anything. In short, it was amazing. Prophet and Tommy were such interesting, complex, damaged characters and I just wanted to hug them. The story was fast-paced, action-packed and full of humour. The sex scenes were out-of-this-world hot and Prophet and Tommy’s chemistry just leaped off the page.

If you’re a fan of the Cut & Run series, you will devour this series. If you’re into action, romance, and badass guys with tattoos and piercings in interesting places, this book is most definitely for you. You can order Catch a Ghost here and then, after you’ve read it, you can order Long Time Gone over here. I promise, you will not regret it!

Leave a Reply

