Renegade Angels: A Touch of Crimson


A Touch of Crimson

A Touch of Crimson

Can a love that transcends death survive a war between angels, vampires, and lycans?

An angel with immense power and insatiable desire, Adrian Mitchell leads an elite Special Ops unit of the Seraphim. His task is to punish the Fallen-angels who have become vampires-and command a restless pack of indentured lycans. 

But Adrian suffered his own punishment for being involved with mortals-losing the woman he loves again and again. Now, after nearly two hundred years, he has found her: Shadoe, her soul once again inhabiting a new body that doesn’t remember him. This time he won’t let her go.

With no memory of her past as Shadoe, Lindsay Gibson knows only that she can’t help being fiercely attracted to the smoldering, seductive male who crosses her path. Swept into a dangerous world of tumultuous passion and preternatural conflict, Lindsay is soon caught between her angel lover, her vampire father, and a full-blown lycan revolt. There’s more at stake than her love and her life-she could lose her very soul…

I don’t think I made any secret of the fact that the Crossfire series did nothing for me, but I was quite keen on trying something else of Sylvia Day’s. So I settled on trying out her Renegade Angels series, and it wasn’t half bad. I’m actually of two minds about it. There were bits I liked and there were bits that I really didn’t. I’ll start with the negative aspects of the book and then end with the positive.

My first complaint is about, what seems to me to be, the excessive use of adjectives. I think this was more of a general thing than something specific to Ms Day, but it still irritated me. Adrian, our hero, could never just walk, or gesture, or stand, or whatever. No. It has to be “sinuously”. Or “fluidly”. Or “sensuously”. I found myself thinking, for the love of God, can the man not just stand up without us making a big production of it? The second thing that bugged me, and this is specific to Day, is Lindsay. Lindsay has the ability to sense nonhumans. She just gets this vibe of malevolence, and she’s made it her mission to kill any demon she comes across. Sadly, despite these Buffy-like tendencies, she was just… dense. She and Adrian meet in an airport, and the sparks immediately begin to fly. Adrian invites her to dinner and she says yes. She’s not stupid about it; she calls her dad to let her know who she’s with and where they’ll be. But then she begins to act like a moron. Turns out dinner is going to be at his place and he needs to buy some wholesome, organic ingredients. While there she senses a demon and then, in the middle of the shop in front of God and everyone, she kills the guy. Now, there’s no mention of anyone else around, but I find it damn near impossible to believe that there is no one else in there. She pulls the same stunt later on in the book, running after a vampire and throwing knives at her, Really? In public? Finally, I thought the book’s resolution was a tad… convenient. The ending felt rushed, and I thought that we could have left out a lot of the angsting and spent a little more time with a solid ending.

But it really wasn’t all bad. I liked the concept of having a world where it’s vampires vs angels, with the lycans as the angels’ “indentured” servants (read: slaves). I wasn’t too keen on the angels, but the lycans and the vampires had me intrigued. I was especially interested in the plight of the lycans. These guys are sort-of fallen angels. The vampires had their wings ripped off because their “rebellion” was unforgivable; the lycans rebelled, too, but they were given the chance to avoid becoming vampires by promising to serve their obedient brethren. Centuries have passed since the lycans were forced into slavery, and now they’re getting restless. This is where my favourite character in the book comes in: Elijah is the only lycan that we know of who is able to choose when to transform into a wolf, which means that he has the potential to be an Alpha. This has both the other lycans and the angels watching him very carefully. The lycans are hoping that Elijah will step up and free them from the angels’ shackles, and the angels are ready and waiting to crush these aspirations. And this is how we end the book and go onto the next installment of the series, A Hunger So Wild.

I enjoyed this book, although there were bits that left me a bit “meh”. I’m actually really looking forward to Elijah’s book even though I’m not too thrilled about his leading lady.

Leave a Reply

