Lords of Deliverance: Immortal Rider


Immortal Rider

Immortal Rider

 

They are here. They ride. The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

Arik Wagner, a soldier with the US Army’s paranormal unit, the R-XR, kissed a girl and liked it. And then he went to hell as punishment. Where he’s spent weeks being tortured… and plotting revenge. 

Limos, Horsewoman of the Apocalypse, isn’t your average girl. She’s immortal, dangerous, and her finance is Satan himself. In a moment of weakness, she gave in to her desire and kissed Arik, triggering her fiance’s wrath-and his claim on her. In order to save Arik, and the world, Limos must make a dangerous pact with her recently turned evil brother, Pestilence. A deal that might just cost her her soul… and her heart.

Larissa Ione is honestly one of my favourite authors. Just when you think she can’t get anymore awesome, bam!, she does. Immortal Rider is book two in the Lords of Deliverance and book seven in the Demonica series. From what I can gather, Lords of Deliverance was it’s own series, and was then incorporated into Demonica. So… yes. That’s that.

Immortal Rider is Limos and Arik’s book. Most of you will recognise Arik from the Demonica series; he’s Runa’s brother and an old army buddy of Kynan’s. Arik also made an appearance in Eternal Rider where he met Limos, and the attraction between these two was immediate, although Limos had a rather strange way of showing it. Despite them making eyes at each other, nothing actually happens for a while (mostly, I suspect, because Arik was sporting cracked ribs). As it turns out, though, Arik would have been better off had Limos maimed him more severely because after one kiss, one measly kiss, Arik got dragged into hell by demons where he was tortured for months. I was a little annoyed with Limos after this happened. While Arik isn’t my favourite hero, he definitely did not deserve the crap that came his way after kissing Limos. But, in all fairness, after being celibate for thousands of years, I can’t blame Limos for wanting to go there.

Limos was one of my favourite leading ladies in this series. She acted like this happy-go-lucky party girl, concerned only with her next outfit; in reality she’s quite the badass, who manages to hold her own with her fierce brothers. It took me a little while to warm up to Arik. I think that, in a sea of hot fierce guys, he got a little lost. I also didn’t really feel the chemistry between him and Limos. There was so much else going on that their story felt a little… secondary to me. I enjoyed it but, at the same, I was almost impatient for them to get off the page so I could follow what was happening with Thanatos, my favourite of the Four Horsemen. I cannot wait for this book! I’m practically salivating at this point.

I am honestly in love with this series. It’s so much fun!

Leave a Reply

